RSS

Nasty Life Laundry

20 Mar

My sister was arrested this week for two felonies.  All week I have grappled with how I am going to approach the very difficult phone call I need to make to her.

I thought quite a bit about the stupidity of her actions and the evil behind them.  Of course, you know where that led my Christian heart, right back to my own.  I can’t cast a stone, in the past I’ve done similar things and was lucky enough not to have been caught.   Which made me start wondering if I really got away with it Of course God knows my sin, I didn’t get away with it in that sense.  I have confessed the old and try to keep a short account of the new, repented of the whole lot, and I am fully convinced I am forgiven. Condemnation for it is removed from me because of the sacrifice of Christ and my sin is removed from me as far as the East is from the West.  Because of my repentant faith in Him, I am unquestionably forgiven.

My sister’s arrest was in the news.  Her alleged wrong doing is common knowledge if you happen to live where she does.  My dirty laundry never made it to the papers or the local TV news. So in that sense, did I get away with it?  Will it never be brought up again?  Will I get through eternity without anyone but God and I seeing the real me? 

David, you’re worse than I thought.

David acted like a big cad in the whole Bathsheba story, no news flash there.  The Biblical ‘papers’ detailed all the trash there is to know-right?

I was reading 2 Samuel 23 when I noticed something new to me.  That always amazes me although I don’t know why it would anymore.

david

I knew you were messed up, but, wow, not that much.

If people only knew.  If people only knew what was really in my heart.  If they knew the depth of my sin they would judge me, they would have to.  It’s that ugly.  Someday, they will know.  Or will they?

After scouring the Bible, books and articles, I believe you will eventually know everything there is to know about me someday.  As glorious as it will be to stand in front of Christ accepted and forgiven, there will be that naked part I need to endure.  There will be a moment when I stand before all of creation, both earthly and heavenly, and be revealed.

Not to humiliate me.  No.  The purpose won’t even be to expose me.  Really, it will be about exposing Him.

There is a current thought circulating in my circles that goes something like this: because I am forgiven, God removes my sins entirely and will not bring them up again.  Since the judgement of my sin has already been pronounced and remedied in Christ the issue is over.  Due to that, the Christian will not be present for the Great White Throne Judgement but only before the Bema Seat of Christ where Christ will weigh each believer’s works and burn up all that was not done through the Spirit.  My sin will not be exposed because the believer can’t be held liable for that anymore because of Christ.  The emphasis is on which works will stand the test.  The idea is that our sins will never be brought up again, indeed, CAN’T be brought up again.

It is with great trepidation that I say I see something entirely different happening.  I deeply respect (even admire) some of the people I am about to disagree with.  However, I believe we will have to give an account for every word, deed and motive even though we have been forgiven of all that is unseemly, past, present or future.  I believe each Christian will be fully exposed.

In Matthew 25 Jesus describes what will happen when he divides the sheep from the goats.  This whole process tells me that at some point all of mankind will be assembled together, saved and unsaved.  How will He separate them?  By going through their works (Ps 90:8; Ecc 12:14; Lk 12:2).  This ferreting happens I believe, before the Great White Throne Judgement (Revelation 20) and it is not a private conference.  In Rev. 20:12,  the dead, great and small stand before Him and the books are opened.  Each man’s deeds are exposed.  There is also another book opened, the Book of Life.

After giving an account of one’s deeds, the moment of decision comes.  Will one go to the left or to the right?  “If anyone’s name was not found in the Book of Life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.” (Rev. 20:15 cf. Mt. 25:46)  If one is found in Christ, the punishment has been paid, their sins are not counted against them, they are not condemned.  They exit stage RIGHT.  Their sins are forgiven.  Those who are sent left (Mt 25), are sent there because their name was not found in the Book of Life  (Rev 20:14).  I can’t say for sure, but I think the last book to be looked at in each instance will be the Book of Life.

In honesty, when the Bema seat judgement happens still confuses me.  Do we go through the whole process again?  Is the Bema seat reference necessarily a separate occurrence?  Not sure….sorry folks, you stumbled upon a not-all-knowing saint.

Really David?

So back to David.  We all know he took another man’s wife, tried to cover it up and that led to Urriah’s murder.  What I never realized before was that Urriah was one of David’s BFF’s, he was one of the Thirty Mighty Men, his Round Table.  (2 Samuel 23:39)  I think I never realized that before because it required reading a list of names which, gets old, so I, like you, tend to skip it.

The list of the 30 Mighty Men (actually 37) goes on and on and then the last one is Urriah.  I’m pretty sure he was placed last on this list to get our attention, kind of a sigh.  Here’s all of the exploits of these great men, this and that, name after name and then of course, the end, Urriah, you remember what happened with him.  “Et tu Brute?”

I thought I knew David pretty well.  I guess I didn’t.  I probably still don’t and when it is his turn to face the crowd I’ll probably learn more.  When I hear his failings I know I won’t have that curious ear, eager to hear the dirt, I’ll have the praise of God in my heart for God will be exposing Himself.  And this you forgave!  And yes, Lord, this too!  You are an amazing God!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in Never Saw That Before, Sin

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Nasty Life Laundry

  1. Geraldine Van Biljon

    March 21, 2013 at 2:00 am

    My word! Your gift is beautiful! May the Lord keep blessing you with His incredible revelation! I also really enjoyed the set-up of your page! Well done! I look forward to more post’s! Bless you! OUR GOD REIGNS!!

     
    • Kris

      March 21, 2013 at 2:12 am

      My friend, how you have encouraged me! I thank you so much for your kind words and I echo what you have said wholeheartedly, OUR GOD REIGNS! Blessings!

       
  2. Geraldine Van Biljon

    March 21, 2013 at 2:16 am

    I have to comment again! I am going to read this article to my husband over a cup of good coffee! I am blown away! Bless you – Bless You! And Bless you! Have I said that enough?? Bless you in Jesus Name!

     
    • Kris

      March 21, 2013 at 2:26 am

      I am humbled….enjoy your coffee, your husband and thoughts beyond! You have done much for my soul, thank you!

       
  3. lessonsbyheart

    April 18, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Most of us could say, “if you only knew me.” I love knowing that when God looks at me, He sees the righteousness of Christ – the One who presents me as “holy, blameless, and above reproach!” Colossians 1:22

    (Eyebrows raised high!). I don’t get how it all works, but I’m sure glad that it does. 🙂

    Very thought provoking article. Thank you for sharing it.

     
    • Kris

      April 18, 2013 at 9:54 pm

      I stopped by your blog and would encourage others to do so as well. I’m glad to get to know you! It appears our hearts are both captured by the same Lord and Savior!

      I wanted to add a thought, piggy-backing on yours.

      Position in Christ is so central to understanding much of the faith, and yet it is difficult to fully comprehend how that is played out. There is a tendency to think that once we leave earth we leave all of the consequences of sin behind but we don’t. We are forgiven, thank you Lord, for if I wasn’t, there would be no hope. Yet even what I should be rewarded in heaven has direct relationship to how I have lived here on earth….my position does not dictate everything.

      Our standing through identification with Christ is an immensely secure place, protected and sure, but it is not a coddled place, where we are hidden from the consequences of our sins. Spared from punishment yet not immune to consequences. These are hard things to grasp, Not done thinking about this yet, perhaps there will be more to come.

       
      • lessonsbyheart

        April 18, 2013 at 10:40 pm

        Ah, yes. He’s totally captured my heart! I’m so glad I found your site.

        From what I’ve read in the Bible, the Bema Seat is about rewards…or the lack thereof, depending upon what we did and why we did it. The consequences of our actions play out here. (I know – some of mine won’t end until I slip through the veil into forever – but they WILL end then. i.e. ex-spouses and in-laws, and all the hassles that entails for me and for my children. HALLELUJAH!).

        There is a fire where all our works will be piled up and set on fire. Only those that were done in love (1 Corinthians 13) will be rewarded. Things that *appear* to be good, but were done for self-serving reasons will be wood, hay, and stubble. I think we’re going to be surprised at what is rewarded and what isn’t.

        This is just an “off the top of my head” quick overview of how I “think” this works. I can’t wait to see what is waiting for us. Oh, you don’t want to get me talking about heaven! I can go on for hours!

        Here’s something for you to mull over: What is eternal life? The answer is found in John 17:3. The answer completely surprised me. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it!

         

Leave a Reply

 
