RSS

Lonely Soul: A really bad poem (you should read)

25 Mar

Lonely

So a phrase came into my head and I started writing.  After about ten minutes I became annoyed that all of my sentences had a cadence and ended in rhyme but I couldn’t seem to help myself.  Weird.   Anyways, I kept trying to rework it in my normal style and found myself reverting back to cadence each time.  I am no poet, heavens no, but I have given up on trying to express this thought in other ways.

Here’s my really bad free verse (?) -seriously- this is embarrassing, but if you read it out loud and pretend you are at a beat club, maybe, hopefully, it will speak to you.

It is an odd and sorrowful truth, that the more one is pulled in, and the firmer the grasp and will become, the lonelier the soul becomes.

For a season is entered where the pleasures and vices are habitually shunned and your comrades are found to be few, perhaps there is none.  You expose the wonders your eyes have seen and wait for the tug, the grasp of your hand, but the stare is blank.  The nod is there, but a suspicion persists that you did not get it, though you gave thanks.   How in the church, amidst like-minded souls, do I feel bereft and so out in the cold?

Then a Jonathon comes along… not many, it seems two, more likely one, but there he is!  And your heart soars for his soul, his presence, his tongue.  A kindred fire is a soothing balm, for the company of a crowd is replaced by one.

A lonely road, it is taken by few.  But praises!  Trapped in heaven’s solitude, I am not so lonely, I am filled, and I have you.  Time goes by, and deeper I go.  Peace.   I look and startle how one Jonathan has increased.

……Now you are hearing lots of snapping by really polite people….. In all honestly, I am coming to see the blogging community this way.  Blessings to all of you.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Lonely Soul: A really bad poem (you should read)

  1. Debbie

    March 25, 2013 at 12:56 am

    Definitely snap worthy! Great poem and I think it came out just like it was meant to! Thank you and God bless you!

     
    • Kris

      March 25, 2013 at 1:06 am

      Ha! (but thanks! Snaps are much better than the sound of crickets!) By the way, I shared your last post earlier tonight to all of my facebook friends, I am really intrigued by those letters!

       
  2. adelineoh

    March 26, 2013 at 3:04 am

    How, I wonder, can you write on the simplest things and make them sound so profound? You challenge and inspire me. Have a beautiful week!

     
    • Kris

      March 26, 2013 at 10:17 am

      thanks.

      You inspire me too because you are doing what I wish I could. In my prayer life, the loudest groans (outside of for myself) are usually for those exploited.

      Thank you for taking the time to encourage me!

       
      • adelineoh

        March 26, 2013 at 3:00 pm

        Then please pray for us too. Thanks.

         
  3. Geraldine

    April 1, 2013 at 8:50 am

    I loved it!! It was fantastic! ”Applause – smile – pat on the shoulder!” Then smile again 😉
    I rate you should write more poems! I like it! hee hee

    Your whole post made me smile from beginning to end 🙂

     
  4. Rene Yoshi

    April 2, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    That’s exactly how I have felt!! In fact, something happened the other day, and I shared it with my daughter and one other person, but not many would get it or would become concerned I was going off the deep end. Thank you for putting it into words. And I liked the cadence. 🙂

     
    • Kris

      April 2, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      How often I have wondered if my lonely expressions of devotion were lonely because I was deluded in some manner! Have my passion and zeal carried me off into some sort of imbalance? The same God, The same Savior, the same Spirit, the same Body….yet such different voices proclaiming the same message. In the body of Christ one hears the level headed voice of Paul, but also the cries of John the Baptist, the mystical devotion of John, the scholar of Hebrews. Even Peter said Paul writes of some things “that are hard to understand”…no, I’m not deluded, just doing my part, as are you!

       
      • Rene Yoshi

        April 2, 2013 at 7:46 pm

        Yes! Thank you!

         
  5. justhappeneduponthis

    April 26, 2013 at 2:24 am

    Yes, the onion sheds many layers in coming to the core of the new reality: “I have given up my right to myself.” The North Star is now Jesus. Graciously I will be given a couple of “fellow astronomers”, just a couple. You have called such friends in Christ “Jonathan”.

     
    • Kris

      April 26, 2013 at 2:55 am

      As I read your comment, I was struck once again between the difference of a “Jonathan” and the crowd, I think it was due to your wording, but I’m not sure. Isn’t it interesting how a throng does not provide comfort but rather something else entirely…a satisfaction filled with unease; it does not bring peace but an uncertainty to the moment….is it sure and steadfast. or a swaying in the wind? Is the crowd tickled in the moment or agreeing in the journey? Yet the voice of one like minded soul brings tranquility and confidence in the midst of the most confusing times. They plod alongside, faithful, abiding, committed to the same fate. A true friend is a gift and a mercy of God.

       

Leave a Reply

 
