RSS

On the Lighter Side: Run for Your Mule!

30 Apr

stubborn muleForgive me, I can’t help myself.  Perhaps you can chuckle with me, even if it is at something in the Bible.

2 Sam 13:29 always makes me smirk. It reads: “And the servants of Absalom did to Amnon just as Absalom had commanded.”  Perhaps I’m just warped, but the next part makes me smile.

The king’s sons were panicked. They didn’t casually get up to leave, they jumped up and ran out the door.  If they weren’t fearing they were the next one to be killed they were fearing retribution from King David for being a part of the murder of his son Amnon.  They were freaked out and they knew that this tent was not the place to be.

Which brings me to the part I find funny.  If you were going to run for your life, how would you do it?  Would you dash for your mule?    Wouldn’t you rather kick your sandals off and run like mad?   Apparently I have a very stereotypical view of the mule. Panic stricken over the murder of their brother, the king’s sons jumped on their mules and ran away (at 5 mph)…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2013 in Lighter Side

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “On the Lighter Side: Run for Your Mule!

  1. lessonsbyheart

    May 1, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Thanks for the laugh!

    \ 🙂 /

     
    • Kris

      May 2, 2013 at 4:49 am

      Grateful for people who laugh at what I do. Thanks for commenting!

       
  2. jaels

    May 2, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Oh, that IS a Good one!!!

     
    • Kris

      May 2, 2013 at 4:44 am

      I am happy that I was not the only one who found it quite odd…I was fearful I may have been the only one to see the silly picture it conjures up! Thank you! Blessings to you Jaels.

       
  3. adelineoh

    May 3, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Maybe they had turbo mules back then? lol. I love how you really read the Word and chew on it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
