RSS

Why then, do you love God?

02 Jun

“What am I loving when I love you God?”The Thinker

I ran across this question while reading Augustine’s Confessions and it got me to thinking. If you take away the pat answers, you might learn a lot about yourself, and God.

Personally speaking,

I do not love his form, the beauty I may imagine.

I do not love His bounty, in that He does not fulfill the pleasures of flesh.

I do not love his embrace, as the embrace of a human and the joy that brings.

I do not love the way He purposed my life to unfold, the trials and disappointments, the dreams left hanging.

And yet I do love Him, but why?  What draws me to Him like a moth to a flame?  What fills me with a love so complete and overwhelming?

I scribbled some thoughts down and the first were revealing.  I encourage you to do the same before you continue reading.  My initial thoughts I think, were the way my flesh responded to Him.  As I continued I found my spirit genuinely responding and it was a wonderful exercise.

I love Him because He makes me feel secure,

I love Him because I think He is the only One I can truly trust,

I love Him because I can’t corrupt Him,

I love Him because He is superior, His ways always outshine mine,

I love Him because He is persistent despite my failures,

I love Him because He is beautiful, but not in a way my eyes see,

because he does fulfill me, but not in the ways my flesh would desire,

because He loves me so intimately, but beyond anything carnal,

because He is love, and though I can’t explain it, I am drawn to love.

He is love.  I was created to be an expression of His image, not merely an object of His love but another loving entity.   In sin I found I could not love, yet through love He made a way to reconstruct me anew, so that I could love again.  And the first one that I should love after He did this, was Him.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2013 in Discernment, Spiritual Growth

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Why then, do you love God?

  1. sarsrose

    June 11, 2013 at 4:55 am

    Hi! I’ve recently been reading Augustine’s confessions myself! Were you, as I was, amazed at how something so old was still so relevant to life today? It really reminded me that there is nothing new under the sun. Augustine wrestled with the same issues that we do today. I’m not sure whether I’ve just got a brilliant translation, or whether it is the same in any translation…

     
    • Kris

      June 11, 2013 at 12:12 pm

      I agree, I was surprised by Confessions on two accounts and you touched on both. First, it was much easier to read than I had expected! Previous to picking up Confessions, I had finished The Interior Castle which was written in the late 1500’s. It was laborious to read simply because of the wording…though the content was good. I expected Augustine’s work to read the same way and was amazed at how contemporary and ‘easy’ the writing style was. I too, wondered if the translation itself wasn’t adding to my enjoyment of the content! Combine that with the current feel of the topics and it often felt like I was reading a 21st century author. I came away with the same thing you did…the experience of humans and the journey in sanctification has not changed throughout history. Customs change but the same misery and joy meets every generation. What a pleasure to meet you!

       
      • sarsrose

        June 14, 2013 at 3:53 am

        Absolutely! And you too! 🙂

         
  2. Jeff

    August 8, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Beautiful words inspired by a tremendous work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
